top of page

Two Years is Coming to a Close. Hope, Joy, Happiness.

Well look at that. Monday, May 1st, 2017. It's almost hard for me to believe that this day is here. Two years ago I was still getting ready to head off to England, which was still about a month away. I had an idea of what a mission would be like, but absolutely no idea what my mission would be like. I don't even know where to begin, but I'll try. Since next p day I will be busy with things for my departure, I will only have a chance to write something small, if anything.

I remember at the beginning having a few of those "what did I get myself into" moments. To my limited perspective, I had two years of rainy days filled with trying to talk with people about religion in a culture where that is taboo. Was it that? Well, yes, but also so much more. The message is not just a message about religion. The message is that the fullness of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and His church have been restored to the earth today, which contain the teachings and proper priesthood authority necessary to bind our families together for eternity, and make it possible for us to return to live with God again one day. Some might disagree with this, and that is okay. I've had a lot of people disagree with me on this. But this is more than just reading from a book what someone told me- it is personal. If I didn't have at least some degree of personal witness of what I share, I would not have survived the past two years.

There are days when mission life and missionary work is hard- so hard there have been a few days of mental breakdown. Though it's been hard, there has always been something that seems to carry me. That something is hope. Hope is the foundation of faith, which is the foundation of knowledge. I still remember and reflect back to that cold and dark December day in Colchester that we met this girl and her mom. I have shared this story before, and it still sticks with me. We stopped this mom and her daughter, probably about seven years old, to try to show the Christmas video to. The mom was very confused, looked at us, and asked, "why are you doing this?" And before we could reply, her daughter responded "to make people happy!" That made me realise the simplicity of where my hope comes from. All the tough times on my mission have been totally made worth it when we finally find someone who is sincere and willing to act, and they taste of the happiness they can have, just as Lehi did in his dream:

"And it came to pass that I beheld a tree, whose fruit was desirable to make one happy... And it came to pass that I did go forth and partake of the fruit thereof; and I beheld that it was most sweet, above all that I ever before tasted. Yea, and I beheld that the fruit thereof was white, to exceed all the whiteness that I had ever seen."

(1 Nephi 8:10-11, italics added)

The fruit of the tree described by Lehi are the blessings that come as we live the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Missionary work can be described by what follows in Lehi's dream:

"And as I partook of the fruit thereof it filled my soul with exceedingly great joy; wherefore, I began to be desirous that my family should partake of it also; for I knew that it was desirable above all other fruit."

(1 Nephi 8:12)

What happens next happens to every single missionary that ever lived, including Christ himself:

"14 And I looked to behold from whence it came; and I saw the head thereof a little way off; and at the head thereof I beheld your mother Sariah, and Sam, and Nephi; and they stood as if they knew not whither they should go.

15 And it came to pass that I beckoned unto them; and I also did say unto them with a loud voice that they should come unto me, and partake of the fruit, which was desirable above all other fruit.

16 And it came to pass that they did come unto me and partake of the fruit also.

17 And it came to pass that I was desirous that Laman and Lemuel should come and partake of the fruit also; wherefore, I cast mine eyes towards the head of the river, that perhaps I might see them.

18 And it came to pass that I saw them, but they would not come unto me and partake of the fruit."

(1 Nephi 8:14-18)

There are many examples of what missionary work and a mission is like found in the Book of Mormon and Bible, but this one strikes me personally, because it is dealing with Lehi's own family. I'm sure it must have pained Lehi so much to see his own sons, Laman and Lemuel, choose not to partake of the blessings that come through living the Gospel of Jesus Christ. However painful it is, there is so much joy in seeing others partake in these blessings.

I think this is the best way I can describe my mission. The happiness I tasted motivated me to share it with others, which brings more joy when a few people accept it, but also sorrow when people choose to reject it. Hope is the driving force that has carried me throughout the times of rejection, which are plentiful, to the few times of seeing the joy of someone else taste of this happiness.

Well, I hope this blog hasn't been too boring. Thank you to all who have read this and followed along over the past two years. I hope you learned and felt something.

Cheers!

Elder Spencer Ammermon

England London Mission

64-68 Princes Gate, Exhibition Road

South Kensington

London

England SW7 2PA

P.S. The pictures are at and from the London Sky Garden


bottom of page